The National Science and Mathematics Quiz (#NSMQ) kicked off in 1994 and over the past years, only a few schools have been able to emerge as winners. PRESEC Legon is currently the most successful in history to have won this prestigious competition 7 times more than any other school.

Schools must compete in district, zone, and regional tournaments and earn a significant number of points to qualify for the national competition.

Aside from the trolls and bragging rights that make up the competition, the purpose of this competition is to challenge the cognitive abilities of these young children to advance their research in science, math, and technology.

Prempeh College is the first school to take home the trophy in the history of the Games, which dates back to 1994. However, institutions such as Presec Legon, Persco, and Mfantispim School have also made great strides.

Presec Legon was the most awarded with 7 awards, followed by Prempeh with 5 and Persco with 3. Presec Legon defeated Adisadel College and Prempeh College yesterday to win the recently held NSMQ 2022.

Check the Full List Below:

1994 – Prempeh College

1995 – PRESEC Legon

1996 – Prempeh College

1997 – Opoku Ware Senior High School

1998 – Achimota School

1999 – Mfantsipim School

2000 – St Peter’s Senior High School

2001 – Pope John Senior High School

2002 – Opoku Ware Senior High School

2003 – PRESEC Legon

2004 – Achimota School

2005 – St Peter’s Senior High School

2006 – PRESEC Legon

2007 – St Augustine’s College

2008 – PRESEC Legon

2009 – PRESEC Legon

2010 no competition was held

2011 no competition was held

2012 – Ghana Secondary Technical School

2013 – St Thomas Aquinas

2014 – Mfantsipim School

2015 – Prempeh College

2016 – Adisadel College

2017 – Prempeh College

2018 – St Peter’s Senior High School

2019 – St. Augustine’s College

2020: PRESEC Legon

2021: Prempeh College

2022: PRESEC Legon


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *